Never a bridesmaid …

My lovely daughter has never been asked to be a bridesmaid, but we decided to make her a dress anyway. She chose a shot satin fabric. We literally travelled the length and breadth of the country to find the right one and eventually unearthed it in a tiny side street in Bath. The style, fortunately, was much more straight forward and we soon found a pattern she liked.
The resulting dress is very pretty. Although she never got to wear it to a wedding, it did eventually have an outing to her school prom. I was a little nervous, as I hadn’t sewn such a formal gown for quite a while. The last time was when I helped my Mum sew my own wedding dress and my bridesmaid’s. We were both really pleased with the result and, guess what, it was a perfect fit! The joy of hand made items, of course, is that you are always the only one in that dress!
DSCN0307

Leave a Reply

