My happy Friday moment with Ailbe!

Since our big move northwards to Lincolnshire from Kent we’ve been gradually adjusting to a new way of life.  The house needs lots of work, but is beginning to feel like home, particularly as we had lots of space for the children and their partners to come home for Christmas.  I always dread the post-Christmas blues and that awful empty-nest feeling when everyone has left and the decorations have to come down.  But this year is different.  On 30 November we brought home Ailbe, our rescue Irish red and white Setter.  He was skinny and shy, with a poorly leg, but how he has blossomed already.

On twelfth night, with a lump in my throat and a tear in my eye I was busy unwinding the fairy lights from the stairs, thinking back on all the laughs we had over the Christmas holidays and wondering when next we would all be together again, when I looked down into the hall and saw this gorgeous face ‘smiling’ up at me.

Ailbe sit!

With Ailbe, every day is a happy day.  I just need to teach him to respect my knitting!

9 thoughts on “My happy Friday moment with Ailbe!

  1. You are no longer an empty nester with your beautiful Ailbe. I’m sure he will provide many hours of companionship and liven up your home as does my cat Lilly. So nice to meet you.

  2. Ailbe is very cute, I love how dogs and cats can say so much with just one look…..I don’t love how they can also eat balls of wool, I reckon that should be high on the training list!

Leave a Reply

