Rainy day sewing

Today was a day for staying indoors and bringing some sunshine into the house with some up-cycled curtains.  I originally made these curtains from Laura Ashley fabric for my daughter’s bedroom in the 1990s.  I have cut them down, re-lined them and added new rufflette tape.  Sewing them transported me back to my daughter’s lovely sunny bedroom when she was a child – the fabric is a little sun-faded in places.  Other damage the curtains had sustained is thanks to her pet rabbit at the time, who was partial to a little nibble on the edges of the fabric.  I’ve incorporated the faded bits and the bunny damage along with all our happy memories in the ‘new’ curtains.  The material is so pretty that I don’t think anyone will mind.  They certainly brighten up my laundry room on such a dreary day.

bunny-damaged curtains

bunny-damaged curtains

sewing new rufflette tape

sewing new rufflette tape

'vintage' Laura Ashley fabric

‘vintage’ Laura Ashley fabric

I couldn’t remember the name of the fabric, but Laura Ashley have very kindly reminded me via Twitter!
Soo @handmadebysoo
@LauraAshleyUK upcycling ‘vintage’ LA curtains, but can’t remember the name of the fabric. Can you remind me, please? pic.twitter.com/43KFVIuuVd – Feb 22

Laura Ashley @LauraAshleyUK

@handmadebysoo I can confirm this was our old ‘Dotty’ fabric and this colour way is named ‘Poppy’. I hope this helps, thank you.

10:06 AM – 23 Feb 15

Leave a Reply

